April 04, 2020 - Saturday
Website Name Image
Weather icon
31.85 ℃, Scattered clouds
Davao City, Philippines

UM Tagum set to face powerhouse teams in Rebisco Volleyball League nat’l finals

November 20, 2019 - Wednesday 10:11 AM by Romeo Braceros

Article Banner Image

DAVAO CITY -- The girls’ high school volleyball team of the University of Mindanao’s Tagum City campus are seeking a podium finish in the Rebisco Volleyball League 2019 National Finals on November 22-30 at the Ynares Sports Arena in Pasig City. 

The team, which finished fourth in last year’s edition of the tournament, will be on a quest to earn at least a third-place finish to improve from their performance last year. 

However, it looks like the UM Tagum team will have to fight harder than they thought for a podium finish as teams from Australia, Malaysia, Thailand, and the United States have been included in the 12-team tournament. 

Aside from the international high school volleyball teams, UM Tagum will also face the Adamson Lady Falcons, the second-placers in this season’s University Athletic Association (UAAP) girls’ junior volleyball tournament. 

Adamson, which fell to National University in the UAAP finals, will represent Metro Manila in the prestigious volleyball competition.

The players from Tagum City will begin their title quest against the tough Hawaii volleyball team on November 23.

They will next face a team from Malaysia on November 24 and will end the elimination round against Bacolod Tay Tung High School on the 26th.

Bacolod Tay Tung High School finished second place behind National Capital Region (NCR) in the high school volleyball tournament of the 2019 Palarong Pambansa here.

A good run in the elimination round of the Rebisco Volleyball League will earn UM Tagum a slot in the semifinals.

They earned the slot to compete in the national finals after beating arch rival Ateneo de Davao University (ADDU) in the league’s Mindanao finals on August 15-18 at the Davao del Norte Sports and Tourism Complex in Tagum City.

UM Tagum received an all-expense paid trip to Manila for the national finals as well as six Mikasa volleyballs for ruling the Mindanao finals.

The Mindanao leg of the tournament was spearheaded by Balibolista de Dabaw led by Abet Bernan.